Women Development Cell (WDC)

Aims And Objectives of WDC

1. To prevent sexual harassment and to promote general well-being of female students, teaching and non teaching women staff of Thakur College of Science and Commerce.

2. To provide appropriate working conditions in respect of work, leisure, health and hygiene to further ensure that there is no hostile environment towards women at work places and that no women employee has reasonable grounds to believe that she is disadvantaged in connection with her employment.

3. To provide guidelines for the redressal of grievances related to sexual Harassment of female students, teaching and non teaching staff of the university and affiliated colleges/institutions.

4. To create social awareness about the problems of women and in particular regarding gender discrimination.

5. To encourage participation of NGOs working in the area of women’s development in the activities of the Cell.

6. To organize seminars, workshops for creating general awareness and orientation of students, teachers, non-teaching staff for their active and sustained participation in the activities of Cell.

7. To organize various types of training programmes and create awareness about self-employment schemes for the encouragement of self-reliance among women.

8. To establish Committees at college level i.e. College Women Development Cell(CWDC) and seeking the participation of both male and female students taking part in NCC, NSS and other activities , for prevention of sexual harassment of women.

9. To provide assistance to the college level Women Development cell (CWDC) for taking preventive steps in matter of gender discrimination and sexual harassment.

Women Development Cell Composition

Name of the member

Ex Officio Chairperson
Dr. (Mrs.) C. T. Chakraborty (Principal)

Mrs. Neeta Jain (Convener)
(Asst. Professor Dept of Mathematics)
Mrs. Champaka Shankar
Inner wheel Club (Kandivali) NGO Representative
Mrs. Ruchi Dubey
(Asst. Professor Chemistry Dept)
4Dr. Vinit Vaidya
(Asst. Professor Dept of Botany)
5Mr. Amit Bhosle
(Non teaching staff and OBC category)
Male Member
6Mrs. Sherilyn Kevin
(Asst.professor Dept of BSc IT)
7Mrs. Rituparna Choudhari
(Asst.professor Dept of Mathematics)
8Ms. Neha Kamble
(Asst Professor Department of Computer Science)
9Ms. Ella Gaglani
(Asst Professor Department of Accountancy)
10Ms. Reetika Fernandes
(Asst. Professor Dept of Accountancy)
11Mrs. Nidhi Rai
(Asst Professor Dept of Accountancy)
12Ms Shakibaa Merchant
(Asst. Professor Dept of Commerce)

Action Plan For 2021-22

Gender Based Activities

The overhauling theme of #BreakThe Bias was observed for all the gender-based activities in the college. The UN theme of 2022 tried to break the stereotype and psychological barriers in horizontal and vertical mobilisation of women for a gender equal world. The activities aimed at promoting inclusive and equitable society through responsible citizens working towards the same.

Objectives are :

  • Conducting activities under the theme of gender with a target audience in mind.
  • The guest speaker/judge should be someone working in the field of gender.
  • The outcome of the activities should be duly identified and achieved.
  • The organisers should not be repeating the events/activities within a stipulated period of time.